treat of the week: sprouted bread, little bird unbakery

It’s odd isn’t it? A baking blog writing about unbaked food? Stay with me – I’m taking you somewhere delicious. The Little Bird Unbakery is, as its name alludes to, a proponent of the raw movement. Usually vegan or vegetarian, food is eaten raw or cooked at less than 40˚C. I don’t know an awful lot about the ingredients but there seems to be a prevalence of sprouts, coconut oil and nuts that act as substitutes for various grains and dairy products that would normally require cooking.

I have a friend who is enthusiastic about such things so I took her along to Little Bird to shield my raw ignorance. I needn’t have worried – nothing at the cafe is really that unusual or foreign and provided you have a sense of adventure, you’ll enjoy the rich flavours.

Can’t see the sprouts for all the mushrooms!

Still, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the sprouted bread. For some reason I had visions of soggy slices with little shoots protruding from them. Thankfully, what arrived was nothing like that.

The bread is made from sprouted grains. A recipe can be as simple as blending the grains, kneading the mixture into a dough and putting it in a dehydrator. I’m pretty sure there are a few secret ingredients added to Little Bird’s  because the bread was amazingly tasty. It was served in thin, crisp slices and there were several toppings to choose from. I opted for balsamic mushrooms, which were so decadent they gave the impression of having been cooked in cream.

As full as that left me, I couldn’t leave without sampling the sweets. The raspberry “cheese”cake was delightfully smooth and tart – and look how pretty it is!

I was less fond of the ginger slice, however. The ginger was far too raw for my liking, the strong taste of coconut oil reminded me of soap and the base was lacking in texture. Try as I might, I couldn’t help but compare it to the traditional ginger crunch, of which I am an avid fan. I suspect this may be a taste to be acquired.

All in all, I was amazed at what some unconventional (to me, at least) combinations of ingredients could achieve. I’ll never be a complete “raw food-ist”, but I’m sure I’ll be back for more.

Little Bird Unbakery
385 New North Road, Kingsland
Ph: 09 550 7377

© thebakingof 2012

2 comments

  1. Mmmmm, I love these people – their Raspberry Cacao Macarons and Superfoods Trail Clusters are my favourite treats from the organic supermarket down here… Can’t wait to check out the cafe when I’m next in Auckland. I think from my experiences so far, some of the more conventional raw foods can be a pretty acquired taste (or at least, it takes a bit to get used to them tasting not quite as you expected), but others are mad delicious.

    1. Completely agree. I’m looking forward to trying some of their other things next time – raw sushi in particular caught my eye!

Leave a Reply

